COTABATO CITY – The passage of remaining priority codes will be the Bangsamoro Transition Authority’s top agenda once the Parliament resumes its legislative duties for the third regular session, said Speaker Atty. Ali Pangalian Balindong.

The three remaining key legislation cited in the Bangsamoro Organic Law (BOL) are electoral, local government, and revenue code. 

The electoral code drafted by the Government of the Day’s technical working group has already been submitted to the Commission on Elections. The Comelec has formed a committee to evaluate and analyze the said code to draft observations, comments, and recommendations. 

The revenue code is yet to be filed while the local government code has been approved at the committee level and is now ready to be discussed in the Parliament. 

“We will continue serving our people despite the ongoing health crisis. This pandemic will not hamper our efforts to achieve our desire for lasting peace and development. We have already faced a vicious cycle of conflict in this peace process, and we have high hopes that during the third regular session we will strengthen our commitment to making this transition successful,” Speaker Balindong said.

He assured that the Parliament is stepping up its efforts to realize the Bangsamoro region’s aspirations and ideals and that measures to ensure the region’s peace and welfare will continue to be prioritized.

The Parliament has approved 18 measures, including three priority codes—the Administrative Code, Civil Service Code and Bangsamoro Education Code.

Other bills passed are:

Adoption of the Bangsamoro Flag;

Adoption of the Official Bangsamoro Emblem;
2020 Bangsamoro Appropriations Act;
Bangsamoro Human Rights Act;
Bangsamoro Attorney-General’s Office Act;
Bangsamoro Socio-Economic Development Planning System Act;
Bangsamoro Hymn Act;
Bangsamoro Women Commission Act;
Recruitment Agency Regulation Act;
Bangsamoro Youth Commission Act;
An Act Defining the Power of Appointment in the BARMM;
Bangsamoro Sports Commission Act;
An Act Extending the Availability of the 2020 Bangsamoro Appropriations to December 31, 2021;
2021 General Appropriations Act of the Bangsamoro; and
Adoption of the Official Seal for the Bangsamoro Parliament.

To date, there are about 100 bills and 430 resolutions filed in the plenary. Out of the 430 proposed resolutions, 122 were approved by the Parliament.

Meanwhile, BARMM Chief Minister Ahod Ebrahim will deliver the Chief Minister’s Report to the Bangsamoro at the ceremonial opening on Tuesday afternoon, June 15, while BTA Speaker Balindong will deliver his address to the Parliament. 

Members of the Parliament may attend and participate in the session physically or via teleconferencing, provided they will reach the quorum of 41 members present. The third regular session will be opened by the Wali, the ceremonial head of the Bangsamoro Government.

Those who will attend the session at the Shariff Kabunsuan Cultural Complex inside the Bangsamoro Government center in Cotabato City must adhere to health protocols such as physical distancing, wearing of face mask, and hand washing or sanitizing.

Following the guidelines issued by the National Inter-Agency Task Force, during the session, physical attendance shall not exceed 50% of the session hall’s capacity. BARMM is among the areas in the country placed under Modified General Community Quarantine. (Publication and Media Relations Division, BTA) 

Share This