Bangsamoro legislators file bill that seeks to create Bangsamoro Research and Development Authority
January 26, 2022

COTABATO CITY — Eight members of the Bangsamoro Parliament filed a measure that would establish a Bangsamoro Research and Development Authority.

Member of the Bangsamoro Parliament Amilbahar Mawallil, principal author of the bill, said that the creation of the Authority would set the directions and priorities for scientific research policies in the region.

“The establishment of this body is proof that the region is preparing itself for advancement,” he added, noting that it intends to develop industries and improve its economic resilience for the Bangsamoro people.

The proposed Parliament Bill 161, also known as the Bangsamoro Research and Development Act of 2021, is also aimed at creating an environment for coordination and collaboration among the government, its offices, the private sector, non-government organizations and individuals engaged in research and development.

MP Mawallil explained that resolving several underlying issues in the region requires a scientific approach.

Investing in research and development, he said, taps into the region’s potential, particularly its human resources. It also creates an opportunity for talented and creative Bangsamoro to harness and improve their competence.

Under the proposed measure, the BRDA would be attached to the Ministry of Science and Technology.

Formulating a research and development agenda for BARMM; recommending a system for establishing priority research and development areas; recommending mechanisms, structures, and measures to encourage private research; and promoting scientific and industrial research are just a few of the office’s powers and functions.

Heads of other ministries in the region will also be part of the Board of Directors such as the Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Agrarian Reform, Ministry of Finance, Budget and Management; Ministry of Environment, Natural Resources, and Energy; Ministry of Health; Ministry of Trade, Investment, and Tourism; Chair of the Committee on Science and Technology of the Bangsamoro Parliament; President of the Mindanao State University Systems; and representatives from private sectors and organizations of scientists and engineers.

If passed into law, the Authority will submit a five-year development plan to the Office of the Chief Minister and the Bangsamoro Parliament.

Co-authors of the bill are MPs Atty. Laisa Alamia, Engr. Baintan Ampatuan, Atty. Suharto Ambolodto, Engr. Don Loong, Rasul Ismael, and Abraham Burahan. (LTAIS-Public Information, Publication, and Media Relations Division)

Share This