Bangsamoro Parliament elects officers, committee chairmanships
September 20, 2022

COTABATO CITY — As the new set of members of the Bangsamoro Transition Authority formally opened its first regular session on Tuesday, September 20, the BTA elected deputy floor leaders and chairpersons of different parliamentary and statutory committees.

Reelected Speaker Atty. Pangalian Balindong presided over the session, with the newly-installed Floor Leader Atty. Sha Elijah Dumama-Alba nominating the MPs to oversee their respective committees.

As the floor leader, Atty. Alba also chairs the committee on rules.

Lawyers Raissa Jajurie, Mary Ann Arnado, Anna Tarhata Basman, and Jose Lorena were the first to be elected as deputy floor leaders.

During the BTA’s inaugural session on September 15, parliament officers were elected, including Deputy Speakers Hatimil Hassan, Atty. Omar Yasser Sema, Atty. Paisalin Tago, Abdulkarim Misuari, Atty. Nabil Tan, Atty. Lanang Ali Jr., and Benjamin Loong, Secretary-General Prof. Raby Angkal, and Sergeant-At-Arms Abdulgani Caludtiag.

The second parliament, which will serve from 2022 to 2025, has also started forming its parliamentary and statutory committees.

Under the parliamentary rules, procedures, and practices, the BTA committees will consider, recommend, and draw reports concerning the disposition of bills, resolutions, and other preparatory works before presenting them to the plenary sessions.

Below is the running list of the BTA committee chairmanship:
Rules: Atty. Sha Elijah Dumama-Alba
Accounts: Atty. Anna Tarhata Basman
Ways and Means: Atty. Paisalin Tago
Blue Ribbon: Atty. Lanang Ali Jr.
Ethics and Privileges: Atty. Omar Yasser Sema
Amendments, Revision, and Codification of Laws: Atty. Mary Ann Arnado
Finance: Arch. Eduard Guerra
Basic, Higher, and Technical Education: Eddie Alih
Environment, Natural Resources, and Energy: Tawakal Midtimbang
Agriculture, Fisheries and Agrarian Reform: Matarul Estino
Local Government: Atty. Raissa Jajurie
Health: Dr. Kadil Sinolinding Jr.
Social Services: Engr. Aida Silongan
Labor and Employment: Akmad Abbas
Trade, Investment, and Tourism: Marjanie Macasalong
Transportation and Communications: Atty. Lanang Ali Jr.
Public Works and Highways: Hussein Muñoz
Human Settlements and Development: Engr. Don Mustapha Loong
Public Order, Security, and Safety: Suwaib Oranon
Indigenous Peoples’ Affairs: Ramon Piang Sr.
Science and Technology: Atty. Omar Yasser Sema
Bangsamoro Justice System: Atty. Jose Lorena
Special Committee on Marawi: Ali Solaiman

Vice-chairs chosen from within the committee’s membership will preside over meetings and hearings in the absence of the chairperson.

All committees have oversight functions and responsibilities to ensure that concerned ministries implement laws, policies, and programs addressing specific concerns in their respective jurisdictions.

They also have the power to initiate legislation by drafting a bill or resolution and introducing it in the plenary session. It will be known as a committee bill or resolution.

The committees may also hold public hearings and consultations to gather information, facts, and a wider perspective on any legislative measures from professional and expert opinions, organizations, and the public.

Meanwhile, the resolution adopting the calendar session for the first regular session of the second parliament was also approved. (LTAIS-Public Information, Publication, and Media Relations Division)

Share This