BTA bill to create Bangsamoro Plant and Animal Industries Office
May 18, 2023

COTABATO CITY ― An office dedicated to the promotion and maintenance of plant and animal industries in the Bangsamoro region is proposed in a measure filed by Bangsamoro legislators to improve the efficiency of the planning and delivery of its programs.

Parliament Bill No. 150, or the Bangsamoro Plant and Animal Industries Act of 2023, calls for the establishment of an office that will serve as the primary Bangsamoro government entity responsible for the comprehensive and integrated development of the plant and animal industries in BARMM.

According to Engr. Baintan Adil-Ampatuan, the main author of the proposed measure, agriculture is a crucial economic factor in the region.

She continued by highlighting that it is not spared from other potential threats or risks to animals, plants, the human population, or the environment.

“The agriculture industry in the region should be protected from biosecurity threats like attacks from invasive species, pests, and diseases that can cause damage to agricultural production.”

The Bangsamoro Plant and Animal Industries Office (BPAIO) will coordinate the efforts of government bodies to ensure the success of plant and animal industries in the region.

For coordination plans and policies, the BPAIO will be an attached agency to the BARMM’s Agriculture, Fisheries, and Agrarian Reform Ministry.

They are also required to submit an annual report to the BARMM’s Chief Minister, indicating, among other things, the list of programs being implemented, the stage of implementation, and the financial position of the BPAIO.

MP Ampatuan further added that the Bangsamoro Government recognizes its duty and obligation to protect and promote the well-being of the people, plant and animal population, environment, and its respective ecosystems in order to meet the requirements of the growing populace and guarantee the nation’s survival.

PB No. 150 was co-authored by MPs Amilbahar Mawallil, Atty. Laisa Alamia, Atty. Suharto Ambolodto, Don Mustapha Loong, Atty. Rasol Mitmug Jr., Rasul Ismael, Khalid Ma-Amor Hadji Abdullah, Jaafar Apollo Mikhail Matalam, Bassir Utto, and Tawakal Midtimbang (LTAIS-Public Information, Publication, and Media Relations Division)

Share This