Bangsamoro legislators file measures to incentivize and recognize Bangsamoro topnotchers, athletes
July 17, 2023

COTABATO CITY ― Bangsamoro individuals who have ranked top in bar and board examinations and international sports competitions will be provided incentives in proposed measures sponsored by several BARMM legislators.

The proposed measures aim to motivate and support outstanding individuals, highlight their accomplishments, and promote community progress.

One of the principal authors of BTA Bill No. 198, or the Bangsamoro Incentives Act of 2023, Member of the Parliament Dr. Hashemi Dilangalen, emphasized the importance of showcasing the achievements of Bangsamoro individuals as a source of motivation for further success.

Dr. Dilangalen believes that recognizing and celebrating their accomplishments will contribute to the economic and social advancement of the Bangsamoro community.

Under PB No. 198, individuals who achieve top rankings in the bar and physician board examinations and Philippine Regulations Commission licensure examinations, as well as winners of international individual, paired, or grouped sports, skills, or academic competitions, will be eligible for incentives. In addition, coaches and trainers will receive 20% of the total cash incentive granted to the awardees.

To qualify for these incentives, recipients must be natural-born Filipino citizens and bona fide residents of the Bangsamoro region. They must also present a certificate or official document issued by either the Supreme Court of the Philippines or the Philippine Regulations Commission confirming their topnotcher status in the respective examinations.

PB No. 198 defines topnotchers as individuals officially declared as the top one to ten in bar examinations by the Supreme Court of the Philippines or in PRC board examinations.

The other main authors of the bill are MPs Atty. Mary Ann Arnado, Suharto Esmael, and Michael Midtimbang, while the co-authors are MPs Amilbahar Mawallil, Hamid Malik, Atty. Nabil Tan, Atty. John Anthony Lim, Atty. Sittie Fahanie Uy-Oyod, Mohammad Kelie Antao, Hatimil Hassan, Rasul Esmael, Tawakal Midtimbang, Bassir Utto, Mudjib Abu, Suwaib Oranon, Khalid Hadji Abdullah, Abdulaziz Amenoden, and Albakil Jikiri.

Another proposed measure, PB No. 200, known as the Bangsamoro Athlete Recognition and Incentives Act of 2023, aims to honor exceptional Bangsamoro athletes who bring pride and honor to the region through their achievements in international sports competitions.

MP Amilbahar Mawallil, the principal author of the bill, highlights the significance of sports in promoting social cohesion and enhancing the well-being of the Bangsamoro constituents.

MP Mawallil believes that providing incentives and recognition to outstanding athletes is essential to supporting their continued pursuit of excellence.

PB No. 200 calls for the establishment of comprehensive guidelines and transparent criteria for granting incentives, which may include cash rewards, scholarships or educational grants, sports equipment and gear, as well as support for participation in future international competitions.

The Bangsamoro Sports Commission, in consultation with relevant sports associations and organizations, will oversee the implementation of these incentives.

PB No. 200 is co-authored by MPs Atty. Laisa Alamia, Engr. Baintan Ampatuan, Atty. Rasol Mitmug Jr., Engr. Don Mustapha Loong, Atty. Suharto Ambolodto, and Rasul Ismael. (LTAIS-Public Information, Publication, and Media Relations Division)

Share This