BARMM solon introduces measure to improve learning competencies of disadvantaged students
July 25, 2023

COTABATO CITY – To improve the learning competencies of BARMM students, Member of the Parliament Engr. Don Mustapha Loong filed a measure that will boost the learner’s confidence as they transition from one grade level to another, increasing their chances of completing college.

Engr. Don Mustapha Loong, main author of Parliament Bill No. 213, emphasized that the Supplemental Academic Learning Amelioration Program Act (SALAP) will act as a remedial measure specifically designed for disadvantaged students.

The program’s primary goal is to instill confidence in these students, enabling them to navigate through the education system with more ease and eventually complete their college education.

SALAP will focus on providing well-structured tutorial sessions and tailored remediation plans, addressing the most crucial learning competencies under the K–12 Basic Education Curriculum.

The subjects covered include language and mathematics for grades 1 to 12, as well as science for grades 3 to 12.

Loong said reading will be prioritized to develop the critical and analytical thinking skills of learners since it is the most essential learning competency in Language.

The program will also focus on building foundational skills for kindergarten learners to strengthen their literacy and numeracy competencies.

The urgency of such measures is evident from the 2013 Basic Education Public Expenditure and Institutional Review, which highlighted the alarming state of education outcomes in the BARMM.

With enrollment, completion, and attainment rates for elementary education lagging behind other regions in the Philippines, Engr. Loong explained that there is a pressing need to break the cycle of poverty and limited opportunities for children in the area.

The statistics revealed that only 23% of grade one students managed to reach grade six, compared to the national average of 73.5%. Moreover, the percentage of students continuing their education until the 4th year at the secondary level stands at just 45% in BARMM, while the national average is 78.8%.

Aside from poverty, among the dominant factors contributing to the steady increase in our dropouts, which in the 2016 report of the PSA was at 14%, is a lack of interest in pursuing their basic education.

SALAP will target disadvantaged learners under the Ministry of Basic, Higher, and Technical Education, focusing on incoming grade one students, freshman secondary students, and college students who are academically lagging or slightly below the minimum level of mastery required in core subjects.

Highly qualified tutors, including teachers and professionals with expertise in language, science, and mathematics, will be responsible for guiding the learners through the program. The tutors will receive specialized training emphasizing innovative instructional techniques, interpersonal skills, social-emotional learning, and cultural competency to ensure the effectiveness of the program.

The success of SALAP will be evaluated through evidence-based practices, including ongoing assessment of learners’ progress, establishment of suitable tutoring strategies, and evaluation of teaching effectiveness. Said approach will allow tutors to provide timely feedback and personalized instruction, meeting each learner’s individual needs.

To ensure proper oversight, an oversight committee comprising one representative from each province and the Minister of MBHTE as chairman will be established. This committee will be responsible for monitoring and evaluating the implementation of the SALAP, ensuring its efficacy and impact on students’ learning outcomes.

The measure is co-authored by MPs Atty. Laisa Alamia, Engr. Baintan Ampatuan, Atty. Rasol Mitmug, Amilbahar Mawallil, Atty. Suharto Ambolodto, Rasol Ismael, Benjamin Loong, Jaafar Apollo Mikhail Matalam, Abdulkarim Misuari, Atty. Jose Lorena, Abdulaziz Amenoden, Diamila Ramos, Adzfar Usman, Mohammad Kelie Antao, Eddie Alih, Tawakal Midtimbang, Mudjib Abu, Suwaib Oranon, Bassir Utto, Bai Maleiha Candao, Michael Midtimbang, Albakil Jikiri, and Mosber Alauddin. (LTAIS-Public Information, Publication, and Media Relations Division)

Share This