New BARMM bill seeks to simplify business registration process in BARMM 
August 14, 2023

COTABATO CITY ― A new bill is up in the plenary that seeks to establish a uniform and streamlined process for business registration through the implementation of the “Single Window Transaction Business One-Stop Shop” in all local government units within the region.

The comparatively low number of registered businesses in the region is often attributed to the current system of establishing firms, which has been criticized for its complexity and time-consuming nature.

Member of Parliament Romeo Sema recognized this challenge by introducing BTA Bill No. 228.

Under the proposed legislation, all businesses, regardless of size—be it micro, small, medium, or large—will follow a unified procedure for business registration.

According to Sema, this method streamlines the process of applying for and receiving a Mayor’s Business Permit by having applicants deal with a single-window transaction.

Unlike the previous process, the proposed system guarantees that business owners will only need to communicate with one designated person. Said individual will be responsible for receiving all required documents, generating payment assessments, issuing receipts, and granting the business permit.

Once the bill is enacted, a three-month grace period will be provided for all cities and municipalities within the BARMM to reorganize their respective Business Permit Licensing Offices and implement the necessary adjustments to their Business Permit Licensing Systems.

MPs Ali Montaha Babao, Muslimin Jakilan, Albakil Jikiri, Faisal Karon, Tarhata Maglangit, Hamid Malik, Abdulkarim Misuari, Nurredha Misuari, Adzfar Usman, Atty. Suharto Ambolodto, Susana Anayatin, Matarul Estino, Abdullah Gayak, Hatimil Hassan, Denmartin Kahalan, Atty. Ishak Mastura, Amilbahar Mawallil, Froilyn Mendoz, Atty. Rasol Mitmug Jr., Nabila Margarita Pangandaman, Atty. Randolph Parcasio, Ramon Piang Sr., Ali Sangki, Bassir Utto, Abdulwahab Pak, and Atty. Jose Lorena are also co-authors of PB No. 228.  (LTAIS-Public Information, Publication, and Media Relations Division)

Share This