Nuling Municipality proposed in Maguindanao del Norte
June 26, 2023

COTABATO CITY – The province of Maguindanao del Norte may soon witness the establishment of a new municipality if Bangsamoro Transition Authority (BTA) Bill No. 223, filed by Member of Parliament Baileng Mantawil, is passed into law.

The bill, presented during today’s parliamentary session on July 26, proposes the creation of the town of Nuling, with its seat of government to be in Barangay Pinaring.

According to the provisions outlined in BTA Bill No. 223, the proposed municipality of Nuling would consist of several barangays currently belonging to the Municipality of Sultan Kudarat. ( These barangays include Matengen, Ladia, Pigcalagan, Alamada, Raguisi, Pinaring, Damaniog, Ibotegen, Banatin, Nara, Kakar, Katidtuan, Maidapa, Kapimpilan, Bulibod, Kabuntalan, Nalinan, and Katamlangan.

For Nuling to officially come into existence, the ratification of its creation must be approved by a majority of votes cast by qualified voters in a plebiscite that will be conducted within the barangays encompassing the proposed town.

The plebiscite will be supervised and carried out by the Commission on Elections through the Bangsamoro Electoral Office.

If the bill is enacted, the Chief Minister of the Bangsamoro region will appoint local officials for the newly created municipality, including the municipal mayor, vice-mayor, and eight members of its Sangguniang Bayan, immediately after the plebiscite.

The appointed officials will hold office until their successors are elected during the next regular election.

Under the proposed measure, the Bangsamoro Government will provide financial assistance to support the administration and operation of the newly established municipality monthly until it becomes eligible to receive its own share in the revenue allotment.

The Bangsamoro Parliament has the power to create, divide, merge, abolish, or substantially alter the boundaries of municipalities or barangays in the region, emphasized MP Mantawil, the principal author of the bill. (LTAIS- Public Information, Publication, and Media Relations Division)

Share This