Parliament bill offers assistance programs for Bangsamoro communities outside BARMM
July 18, 2023

COTABATO CITY ― The Bangsamoro people who live in areas outside of the BARMM will have access to various assistance programs that promote social justice, equity, inclusion, peace, and sustainable development if the Bangsamoro Transition Authority approves Parliament Bill No. 205.

The authors of PB No. 205, or the Social Justice Measures and Assistance Programs to Other Bangsamoro Communities (OBCs) Act, emphasized that the measure will address the marginalization and injustices faced by Bangsamoro communities outside the region.

The proposed measure includes comprehensive assistance programs tailored to the specific needs of these communities, fostering social, economic, and cultural development.

The bill outlines social development measures and programs designed to uplift the lives of the Bangsamoro people in OBCs. These include education assistance, healthcare and wellness programs, women’s and youth development and empowerment programs, peacebuilding and conflict resolution programs, disaster-resilient housing programs, access to justice programs, and advocacy and policy reform programs.

To promote economic development in OBCs, PB No. 205 also calls for the implementation of economic development measures and programs.

It seeks to implement measures and programs that will stimulate livelihood opportunities and entrepreneurship, facilitate financial inclusion, boost agricultural and tourism development, improve infrastructure, promote environmental protection, and enhance disaster preparedness and response.

Cultural development measures and programs will also be implemented to foster cultural development. These include projects and programs focused on cultural preservation and promotion, support for Bangsamoro arts and crafts, and promotion of Bangsamoro history.

To facilitate the planning, coordination, and implementation of these measures and programs, the bill proposes the establishment of the Office for Other Bangsamoro Communities (OOBC).

The Bangsamoro government will collaborate with national government agencies and local government units in areas hosting OBCs, ensuring efficient and effective execution of the proposed initiatives.

Authors of the bill are Members of the Parliament Diamila Disimban-Ramos, Atty. Lanang Ali Jr., Atty. Randolph Parcasio, Amilbahar Mawallil, Engr. Baintan Ampatuan, Eddie Alih, Michael Midtimbang, Ali Sangki, and Atty. Suharto Ambolodto.

They were joined by MPs Atty. Ishak Mastura, Atty. Rasol Mitmug Jr., Dan Asnawie, Ali Solaiman, Froilyn Mendoza, Khalid Hadji Abdullah, Tarhata Maglangit, Dr. Kadil Sinolinding Jr., Bassir Utto, Tawakal Midtimbang, Jaafar Apollo Mikhail Matalam, Engr. Don Mustapha Loong, Akmad Abas, Mohammad Kelie Antao, Mudjib Abu, Basit Abbas, and Nabila Margarita Pangandaman as co-authors. (LTAIS-Public Information, Publication, and Media Relations Division)

Share This