Bangsamoro solon proposes bill to standardize budget submission schedules
September 18, 2023

COTABATO CITY – To promote transparency, accountability, and efficiency in the budgetary processes of the BARMM, Bangsamoro legislators filed a bill that aims to standardize the schedule for submitting the Bangsamoro Budget Expenditure Program.

The BTA Bill No. 240, or Bangsamoro Budget Reform Act of 2023, primarily authored by Parliament Members Amilbahar Mawallil, Atty. Rasol Mitmug Jr., and Atty. Ishak Mastura, aims to streamline and strengthen the budgetary process within the region.

Under the proposed measure, the Ministry of Finance, Budget, and Management (MFBM) would be required to submit the proposed BEP to the Bangsamoro Parliament no later than 30 days from the fourth Monday of July each year.

MP Mawallil emphasized that the timely submission of the proposed expenditure program is crucial for effective governance and fiscal planning in the region.

He explained that the absence of a specific schedule resulted in inconsistencies within the budgetary process, hindering the efficient governance of the region.

The BEP serves as the basis of the General Appropriations Bill for the BARMM, making it a vital document for the allocation of resources and financial planning.

According to the bill, the Finance, Budget, and Management minister may transmit proposed supplemental or deficiency appropriations to the Bangsamoro Parliament when necessary due to laws enacted after the submission of the BEP or in the interest of the public.

The MFBM will also determine the form and content of the proposed BEP, including the minister’s budget message outlining the principles, objectives, policy framework, and spending priorities for the fiscal year, as well as the budget of expenditures and sources of financing.

Mawallil said that these reforms will ensure that funds are utilized effectively, economically, and efficiently, promoting better governance and accountability.

The bill also places responsibility on all ministries, bureaus, offices, and agencies to propose, execute, and deliver committed results in their appropriations promptly, predictably, and economically.

Deputy Speaker Atty. Laisa Alamia, MPs Atty. Suharto Ambolodto, Engr. Baintan Ampatuan, Engr. Don Mustapha Loong, and Rasul E. Ismael are co-authors of said bill. (LTAIS-Public Information, Publication, and Media Relations Division)

Share This